Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Research Profile

Research profile

The Research School of Social Sciences (RSSS) at the Australian National University is Australia’s major institution for theoretical and empirical research in the Social Sciences. The School has a very high national and international profile. This has been recognised in both international assessments of our disciplines, with both Philosophy and Political Science and International Relations being ranked in the top 20 departments in the world. In addition, the academic staff within the School have received recognition within Australia and beyond.

The Research School consists of five disciplinary Schools:

  • the School of Demography;
  • the School of History;
  • the School of Philosophy;
  • the School of Political Science and International Relations; and 
  • the School of Sociology.

In addition, RSSS also hosts two multi-disciplinary centres:

  • the Centre for Aboriginal Economic Policy Research; and
  • the Centre for Arab and Islamic Studies.

Internal grants

Each year RSSS provides a number of competetive internal grants for eligible staff in order to assist in funding their reserach. This year, funding is available for:

Visiting Fellowships

RSSS hosts the largest program of international academic visitors in Australia across the Social Sciences. In 2017, RSSS Visitors include:

Centre for Arab & Islamic Studies

  • Professor Sebastien Peyrouse (George Washington University)
  • Professor Dale Eickelman (Dartmouth College)

RSSS - Directorate

  • Professor Andrew Webster (University of York)

School of Demography

  • Dr Eva Beaujouan (Vienna Institute of Demography)

School of History

  • Professor Elleke Boehmer (University of Oxford)
  • Professor James Brooks (University of California)

School of Philosophy

  • Dr Ellen Fridland (Kings College, London)
  • Professor David Sobel (Syracuse University)
  • Dr Hallie Liberto (University of Connecticut)
  • Professor Amy Kind (Claremont McKenna College)
  • Professor Helan Frowe (University of Stockholm)
  • Professor Janice Dowell (Syracuse University)
  • Dr Miriam Schoenfield (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Professor Cailin O'Connor (University of California, Irvine)
  • Professor Declan Smithies (The Ohio State University)
  • Professor Gillian Russell (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
  • Professor Connie Rosati (University of Arizona)
  • Professor Andrew Egan (Rutgers University)
  • Dr Anne Barnill (University of Pennsylvania)

School of Politics and International Relations

  • Professor Patric Regan (University of Notre Dame - USA)
  • Professor Chris Wlezien (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Professor Dr Ruth Dassonneville (University of Montreal)
  • Professor Thomas Poguntke (Heinrich-Heine University Düsseldorf) 
  • Professor Henrik Ekergren Oscarsson (Göteborg University)

Updated: 6 March 2017/ Responsible Officer:  Director, RSSS / Page Contact:  Web Publisher